Walking the Lakeland Fells: Keswick

Skiddaw, Blencathra and the North

  • Member pricing
  • Non-member pricing

Only 2 left in stock

This guide describes ascents of 30 Lake District fells that can be climbed from Keswick, the Whinlatter Pass, Bassenthwaite, Hesket Newmarket, Mungrisdale and Threlkeld.

The giants of the region Skiddaw and Blencathra need little introduction, their myriad routes attracting many a visitor and promising fantastic far-reaching views. The summits to the north, however, are less frequented, offering probably the closest experience to wilderness walking the Lakes has to offer, whereas to the west, the Whinlatter group present a sylvan alternative.

Unlike other guidebooks which describe a single or limited number of routes to a particular destination, the aim of the Walking the Lake District Fells series is to offer all the options.

These are presented as numbered sections which can be combined to create infinite possibilities – from simple ascents to longer ridge routes. You’ll find the classics and popular routes alongside less traditional alternatives perfect for the wandering spirit.

The series gives you both the freedom to devise your own routes and the information to make informed decisions, thanks to the clear descriptions of the routes, terrain, hazards, interesting features and safe descent paths should the weather close in.



Author: Mark Richards
No of Pages: 280
Page Size: 116 x 172 mm
ISBN 10: 1786310376
ISBN 13: 9781786310378
Publisher: Cicerone Press
Published Date: October 2020
Edition: 2nd , Oct 2020
Binding: Paperback (encapsulated)
Illustrations: Colour photos and OS maps

Weight 327.00 g