Walking The Wainwrights

64 walks to climb the 214 Wainwrights of Lakeland

  • Member pricing
  • Non-member pricing

Out of stock

In this book you’ll find 64 routes that, if you complete them all, by default you will also have completed the Wainwrights. A few of the summits are featured in more than one walk. That’s ok. You can do them more than once!

Why do we need a guide book on the fells of the Lake District if Wainwright wrote seven of them? Well, I should say right here that this book is not intended to replace Wainwright’s Pictorial Guides. They are superb books. But, they were written in the 1950s and 60s, and yes, some things in the hills have changed in the intervening years. Another reason is that many walkers struggle to devise full-day walks using the Wainwright guide books. Yes, he has detailed pretty much every conceivable way of getting to each individual summit, but this leaves the reader having to then come up with their own plan to make a longer day of it by continuing over one or more other fells. Wainwright didn’t describe day walks in these seven guidebooks. He described individual ways up and down each one.

So, please buy the Wainwright guidebooks if you haven’t got them on your bookshelves already. Just use them alongside this book.

Author: Graham Uney
No of Pages: 272
Page Size: 170 x 240 mm
ISBN 10: 1906095787
ISBN 13: 9781906095789
Publisher: Pesda Press
Published Date: July 2021
Edition: 1st Edition, 2021
Binding: Paperback
Illustrations: Full colour maps and photos throughout

Weight 852.00 g